ASMA Tasmania

Australian Society of Miniature Art: Tasmania

President: Patricia Young, 8 Wingrove Gardens, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia.

The Australian Society of Miniature Art originated when Australian artist Janine Bravery met a member of the Cider Painters of America in Paris in 1984.  On her return to Sydney it was decided to form an independent chapter of the society in New South Wales, with a wish that branches be established in all states in Australia.  The first official meeting of the society, which became the Australian Society of Miniature Art (NSW) Inc. was held in June 1985.  Societies formed in Queensland in 1985 (disbaned in 2006), Victoria in 1992 and Tasmania in 1992.  The four societies became members of the World Federation of Miniaturists (WFM) which formed in London in 1995.

The Tasmanian society was formed by Hibiscus Gallery owner Bernadette Connor in Hobart in 1992.  Bernadette was the first President of the society until her retirement in 2000.   Bernadette was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in 2000 for service to the Arts in Tasmania.    Joan Kelly, a member of ASMA Tasmania since 1992 was elected as President.   She stepped down from the position in 2012.   Patricia Young was elected President in 2012.

Joan was elected President of the World Federation of Miniaturists at the third WFM Conference in Washington DC in 2004.  She was re-elected to the position at the WFM Conference in Burnie, Tasmania in 2008 .   During the year she was inducted to the Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women in recognition for outstanding accomplishments and contribution to the Tasmanian community and the arts.   She was re-elected President of the WFM in Moscow in 2012 .

ASMA Tasmania currently has 70 members including several from interstate and overseas.   Members enter their miniature paintings in exhibitions throughout Tasmania as well as exhibitions in NSW and Victoria.  Members also take part in WFM exhibitions which are held every four years in different parts of the world.  Several members also exhibit in overseas exhibitions.

ASMA Tasmania accepts both traditional and contemporary work.  The work to be no larger than 100 square centimetres and to be created using the finest brush or pen strokes.  Although not adhering to the 1/6  rule the society encourages miniaturisation of the subject chosen.